Glenmore Bleach Works and Glenmore House
Guest Post: this post was written by Callum, a year 12 student from Laurelhill Community College who spent a week in the museum on work experience. Fantastic job Callum!
Glenmore House was originally called Lambeg House, one of the original owners of the house was Francis Seymour, 1st Viscount Conway. He lived in the house for some years, when the residence was locally known as ‘The Lord’s House’. Glenmore House has been the home of several important linen families. Glenmore house since then has been converted into apartments.
By 1925 Glenmore house became a residence to the researchers and staff of LIRA (Linen Industry Research Association). This association was set up after heavy criticism by John C. Curtiss. He claimed that Britain had not put enough research into the process of making linen or the growing of flax, so at that moment in time the linen industry was very wasteful and inefficient. This impacted Britain’s war-time effectiveness as a large percentage of the flax was imported.
At Glenmore house they experiemented to see which flax plant would produce larger amounts of flax or what plant would produce a crop that had more fibre. Many plants that would have been strong in both these areas would have been cross bred to produce a very high quality crop.