John Barbour moved from Scotland to Co. Down, Ireland in 1784 to establish a linen- thread making business at the Plantation, Lisburn. The Barbour’s Mill was transferred to the Hilden site after John Barbour’s death in 1823 by his son William. It became one of the first water powered mills on the river Lagan. The site was formally a derelict linen bleach green and building. It was also close to where William had the Hilden House built in 1824.
Guest Post: this post was written by Matthew, a year 12 student from Fort Hill who spent a week in the museum in October 2014 on work experience. Great job Matthew!